Debt Service · Principal
7001-7009 Debt Service – Principal – Local Detail
Reserved range for local detail codesSince 2026.03
- What it is
- Reserved local-detail block for Debt service – principal includes payments that reduce outstanding debt or financing obligations (principal amortization).
- Accounting standard
- Use for additional
- Accounting note
- Tie to amortization schedule and trustee statements.
- Examples
- Bond principal payment; loan principal payment.
- Do not use for
- Interest (7010) and issuance costs (7020).
Where it reports on the Cities FTR
| Fund type | FTR line |
|---|---|
| Governmental funds | By functionForm 28 R01 Principal Payments on Long Term DebtCURR_EXP_RETIREMENT_LT_DEBT Current expenditures column. |
| By major objectForm 29 R09 Principal Payments on Long Term DebtPRINCI_PAYMT | |
| Government-wide ledger (980) | Not reported. Government-wide revenues and expenses are not reported; the FTR uses fund-basis activity. |
| Enterprise funds (water example) | Not reported. Principal payments reduce the liability in proprietary funds. |
| Internal service funds | Not reported. Principal payments reduce the liability in proprietary funds. |
| Fiduciary funds (pension trust example) | Form 30.5 R24 Other DeductionsPEN_DEDUCT_OTHR Column for the trust or custodial fund type. |
Enterprise placement is shown for a water fund; other enterprise funds use the same line on their own form. Check any combination in the FTR finder.